

## 11 October 2013 NSX Announcement

## **Board Changes**

Further to its announcement dated 13 August 2013, African Petroleum Corporation Limited (NSX: AOQ) ("African Petroleum" or the "Company") announces that Mr Charles Matthews has been formally appointed to the Board of the Company as its Chairman, and he has consented to the appointment, with immediate effect.

Mr Matthews has over 10 years' experience in chairman and director positions, having been on the board of a number of listed manufacturing and technology companies, including FTSE 250 LSE listed company FKI Plc. He has previously held senior management positions at Cosworth Group, Rolls Royce and Bentley Motor Cars, and has served as a Member of the Vickers Group Executive Board.

He is currently Chairman of LSE listed Porvair Plc, a specialist filtration technologies business in the aerospace and general engineering sectors. Mr Matthews holds a BSc in Geography and Oceanography from the University of Wales, as well as an MBA from Cranfield Business School and a Strategic Marketing qualification from Harvard Business School.

Mr Frank Timis has resigned as Non-Executive Chairman of the Company and has assumed the role of President of the Executive Committee of the Company, formed to implement Board strategy and to exercise the executive powers of the Company.

In addition, Mr Mark Ashurst will step down from his role as Chief Financial Officer, but will remain on the Board as an Executive Director.

The Company has appointed Mr Stephen West as Finance Director to take over Mr Ashurst's financial duties. Mr West is a qualified Chartered Accountant who holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting and Business Law) from Curtin University of Technology in Australia, with over 20 years of financial and corporate experience in oil and gas, mining and investment banking industries. Mr West is currently a non-executive director of ASX listed Apollo Consolidated Limited and Zeta Petroleum plc and unlisted Norsve Resources plc. Mr West is not being appointed to the Board.

Following these changes the Company's Board will be as follows:

Charles Matthews - Chairman;

Karl Thompson – Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director;

Mark Ashurst – Executive Director;

Gibril Bangura - Non-Executive Director;

Jeffrey Couch – Independent Non-Executive Director;

David King - Independent Non-Executive Director;

James Smith – Independent Non-Executive Director;

Timothy Turner – Independent Non-Executive Director; and

Anthony Wilson – Independent Non-Executive Director.

Yours faithfully

**Karl Thompson Chief Executive Officer** 

For further information, please contact:

**Karl Thompson Chief Executive Officer** 

African Petroleum Corporation Limited

Ph: +44 20 3435 7700

**David Tasker Professional Public Relations** 

Ph: +61 8 9388 0944 / +61 433 122 936

Em: david.tasker@ppr.com.au

Claire Tolcon **Company Secretary** 

African Petroleum Corporation Limited

Ph: +61 8 9388 0744

Eloise von Puttkammer **Investor Relations** 

African Petroleum Corporation Limited

Ph: +61 8 9388 0744

NSX: AOQ Page 2 of 2